Cold Shot / by Dani Pettrey. (Chesapeake Valor, 1) 5.3.2016

Bethany House ISBN 9780764211973

Adult Rating: 4

Award-winning author Dani Pettrey pens a new romantic suspense series set in coastal Maryland, about four childhood friends who choose careers in law enforcement but drift apart when one friend disappears before graduation.

In Cold Shot, former SWAT team sniper Griffin McCray lives a quiet existence as a park ranger at Gettysburg. When a present-day body is uncovered in the Civil War cemetery, forensic anthropologist Finley Gray is called in. So is Griffin’s childhood friend, FBI agent Declan Grey, reopening a past he thought was over. But someone doesn’t want the body identified and will stop at nothing to end the investigation, putting them all in danger. Can they unravel this mystery before it turns deadly?

As with Pettrey’s Alaskan Courage series, this series features strong flawed personalities (male and female) with real problems that readers will find they can relate to. The developing relationship between Finley and Griffin is clean and well developed; they recognize that in order to face a possible future, each must deal with the past first. The romance element is clean and appropriate for readers in high school. The faith element is very evident; when the main characters pray, their prayers are included in the text, making the faith element more obvious.

The plot is intriguing, filled with twists that will keep the reader up late, until the final page is read. The mastermind behind it all and the motive are unexpected. Suspense, romance, action, and danger–it all adds up to a thrilling read!

Recommended for adult collections in public libraries. Fans of Dee Henderson, DiAnn Mills, and Irene Hannon will enjoy this new series.

Carol R. Gehringer,