Regency Brides series / by Carolyn Miller. 3.21.2018

The Captivating Lady Charlotte / by Carolyn Miller. (Regency Brides: A Legacy of Grace, 2)

Kregel     ISBN 9780825444517

The Dishonorable Miss Delancey / by Carolyn Miller. (Regency Brides: A Legacy of Grace, 3)

Kregel ISBN 9780825444524

Adult Rating: 4

Carolyn Miller continues her Regency series, set in England.

In The Captivating Lady Charlotte, Lady Charlotte Featherington, the beautiful daughter of a marquess, expected to receive a marriage proposal during her Season. She falls in love with a dashing suitor, but her father intends for her to marry Duke William Hartwell, a man who does not captivate her. Being a dutiful daughter, Charlotte will probably marry Hartwell. She has captured his heart, but can he capture hers? His wealth and title will not win her over, but will his patient courtship? Will they find a love match beyond their expectations?

In The Dishonorable Miss Delancey, Clara Delancey leaves London after a scandal caused by her unreal expectations of a gentleman’s attentions, her mother’s attempts to force a marriage upon said gentleman, and her brother’s financial affairs. Relocating to Brighton, she makes the acquaintance of an injured naval captain’s sisters. Captain Benjamin Kemsley also befriends Clara and seeks to lift her from the despair that threatens her. A friendship ensues, much to the disdain of Clara’s mother. Can they find a future together without financial and family support?

Miller writes a wholesome Regency series with features that her fans have come to expect: a courtly romance suitable for adults and older teens, with historical detail and excellent characterization. Her characters face real problems in terms of finances, others’ expectations, faith issues, and finding one’s place, permitting the reader to more easily identify with them. Appearances of characters from earlier books are a welcome surprise for Miller fans. The faith element in these books is light but evident.

Recommended for high school and public libraries. Fans of Julie Klassen, Jane Austen, and Regency romances will enjoy this series. The author’s next series comes out in spring 2018.

Carol R. Gehringer,

Earlier Series Titles Reviewed by CLJ The Elusive Miss Ellison (Oct/Nov/Dec 2017)