Winning Miss Winthrop / by Carolyn Miller. (Regency Brides: A Promise of Hope, 1) 12.3.2018

Kregel ISBN 9780825445330
Adult Rating: 4
Australian author Carolyn Miller begins another engaging Christian Regency series, sure to delight her fans and Regency fans alike.
In Winning Miss Winthrop, Catherine Winthrop loses her home and social standing following the death of her father and the discovery of his gambling debts. When the new Lord Winthrop turns out to be Jonathan Carlew, her new impoverished life is even more challenging. Both Jonathan and Catherine believe their hearts were broken by the other person. Will the misunderstandings between them ever be resolved? Will they find their way past their shared rejection and painful memories, and back to one another?
Miller writes Regency novels with historical detail, excellent characterization, and clean romance, suitable for adults and older teens. Her characters face financial problems, others’ expectations, and faith issues, allowing the reader to more easily identify with them. The tension in the relationship between Jonathan and Catherine is reminiscent of books by Georgette Heyer and Jane Austen (e.g., Persuasion). Will Jonathan and Catherine find healing, forgiveness, and redemption? Will they find a future together?
Recommended for high school and public libraries. Fans of Julie Klassen, Jane Austen, Sarah E. Ladd, and Regency romances will enjoy this new series. Miller’s fans will enjoy the reappearance of some characters from her first series, Regency Brides: A Legacy of Grace.
Carol R. Gehringer, worthy2read.wordpress.com