Just Let Go: A Novel / by Courtney Walsh. (Harbor Pointe, 2) 12.25.2018

Tyndale House ISBN 97814496421524

Adult Rating: 4

Author Courtney Walsh shares another contemporary romance set in Harbor Pointe, Michigan–a lakeside community where people really get to know and care for one another.

In Just Let Go, Quinn Collins buys the local flower shop to fulfill a childhood dream–to show her estranged mother she is capable of running the shop once owned by her. Her mother left town (and Quinn) over 20 years ago. Quinn also wants to win the floral design competition where her mother serves as head judge. Can Quinn let go of her hurt and forgive her mother for leaving?

Meanwhile short-tempered Olympic skier Grady Benson comes to town. After a heated confrontation resulting in property damage, Grady finds himself doing community service at Quinn’s shop. He is inspired by her hard work and determination to reach her goals, which in turn re-ignites his pursuit of Olympic fame. After a tense moment with his family, Grady pushes everyone away, including Quinn. Can Grady forgive himself and move forward?

Walsh pens a sweet small-town romance with main characters who annoy one another without realizing how alike they are. Both want to prove themselves to someone: Quinn to her mother, and Grady to his family. Just Let Go is the story of facing one’s past and finding joy even in the midst of disappointments. Filled with a clean relationship between Grady and Quinn, a very light faith element, and themes of forgiveness and letting go of the past, this story will remind the reader why Harbor Pointe is a place that readers like to visit again and again.

Recommended for public libraries and for high school readers. Fans of Beth Vogt, Liz Johnson, and Denise Hunter will welcome this new book!

Carol R. Gehringer, worthy2read.wordpress.com